May 13, 2013

Spotlight On... Teresa Wilde, and GIVEAWAY

Everyone loves a giveaway, right!
 

Today we have a contest from author Teresa Wilde.
One winner will get a digital copy of her hilarious debut
paranormal romance, Strange Academy.


To enter, read the post, and answer the question at
the bottom of the page. 
Include your email address and preferred digital format.
The winner will be chosen on Monday 20th May.



"I love this book. If Jane Ann Krentz and Harry Potter made a baby, it would be this book." U.S.A. Today Bestselling Author, Sharon Page

For fans of Katie MacAlister, Julie Kenner, and MaryJanice Davidson, a funny, sexy paranormal romance set at a school for superheroes.

Determined to uncover the secret behind her eccentric aunt's mysterious death, Sadie Strange, a quirky substitute teacher with a Master’s degree in comic book superheroes, takes a job at isolated private school Strange Academy. Her biggest obstacle? Haughty hottie Lorde Gray, the chemistry teacher who looks down his Roman nose at her as he tries to get her fired.

Undercover demon hunter Gray vows to use his spell-brewing powers to protect Strange Academy's true purpose—educating extraordinary children with paranormal gifts. If the world knew the school's secret, it would start a war that would destroy humanity. Gray won't let a feisty mortal threaten that, no matter how much she swishes her heart-shaped ass.

When fate throws them together, strange allies Sadie and Gray seek to uncover the hidden forces behind her aunt's death before they destroy Sadie—and the school. But when the demon hunter forbidden from associating with mortals and the mortal woman who can't trust her own judgment around alpha males find themselves falling for each other, love is going to get a little strange... 

Excerpt

Sadie Strange answered the door fresh from the shower, still tying the belt of her black kimono. Her dark hair dripped over her shoulders, dampening her robe almost to her breasts. Her red-painted toenails looked like cinnamon heart candies in her slippers.

Cinnamon heart candies? Damn, Gray thought. He really needed to get laid.

"Does this usually work for you?" A sneer tinged her voice, turning it caustic.

When he looked up from her breasts, he saw the contempt on her pink lips. "What?" When had Nons started speaking another language?

"Yeah. Definitely does. This—" She waved a hand at his chest. "—gets you whatever you want from women. You just walk up, ring a bell and they salivate."

And it all became clear. She actually intended to fight him. He smiled inside. There was only one thing he liked better than an easy fix.

A challenge.

"But you feel nothing," he said.

"I feel something, Gray. Nauseous. I know everything, by the way."

A millisecond of panic. Then his hunter's calm clicked on. He looked her in the eye while his right hand slipped inside his charcoal gray sports jacket and fingered the finger-slim vial in the secret pocket above his heart. Not a love potion. Something more permanent.

"Please be a bit more specific about this ‘everything’ you know," he said.

"I know you don't want me here. No one’s watching, so turn off the fake charm before I lose my dinner."

He relaxed and took his hand from his pocket. No desperate measures. For now. "I told Cross that stuff in confidence."

"A secret is something you don't yell at the top of your lungs. The entire academy probably heard it."

He followed as she walked into Pippa’s small kitchen, though he doubted she was going to open a bottle of wine. The damp robe clung to the upside-down heart of her backside.

"I don't yell." When he got mad, he spoke lower than usual. But his heart pounded in his chest, just like now. That's how he knew he was pissed at her, not turned on by the way her slim waist twisted when she put the kettle on the ancient gas stove.

"'I don't care if her aunt was Pippa Strange. She's not one of us. She won't fit into the environment.'" She mimicked his voice's manly timbre.

How had she heard that? He stiffened, feeling enclosed by the tight kitchen. And her in it.

"You don't want me here, so you move into Strange Hall. What's the point? Keep your friends close and your enemies closer?"

"And your lover handcuffed to the bedpost," he added.


                 ````````````````````````````````````

About The Author

I wrote my first novel in twelfth grade—a craptastic plot-hole-ridden mystery I did after reading too much Agatha Christie.

I wrote my second novel in creative writing class in university. It was a YA about a bridesmaid. Everyone else in my group tried to write serial killer novels. I was the only one who finished the assignment. I got a 95.

After that, I forgot I was a writer for a while and remembered again later. Writing has taken me some amazing places, including Montréal, Ecuador
and Regency England.

Strange Academy is my third first novel.

I'm currently working on a Regency Urban Fantasy, plus the sequel to Confessions of a Teenage Demon Magnet and the next book in the
Strange Academy cycle.

Teresa also publishes erotic romances under the pen name Teresa Morgan

                 ````````````````````````````````````

To win a digital copy of Strange Academy, answer the following question in the comments below:

In Strange Academy, Sadie Strange, a normal human woman, ends up dating a superhero. In your opinion, what's the most important quality you need to date a superhero?

Make sure to include your email address and preferred digital format (pdf, mobi, epub) The winner will be chosen on Monday 20th May.

19 comments:

  1. I would have to say he would need a great personality and a nice smile

    michelle808205@yahoo.com

    epub

    ReplyDelete
  2. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  4. A great sense of humor

    flanagan@mebtel.net

    mobi

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think the most important personality trait that you would need to date a superhero, would be discretion. You obviously must be great or he wouldn't be interested, now you just have to keep your yapper shut so he can remain anonymous. LOL Heathermuzz@gmail.com kindle

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ha, Wanda! I think that would be very valuable!

    Teresa

    ReplyDelete
  7. Muzz05:

    You make a very excellent point. You'd have to be discreet!

    Teresa

    ReplyDelete
  8. Compassion


    shannaclmns@yahoo.com
    epub please
    thanks so much for this chance to win :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Claire Wright5/14/13, 7:43 PM

    I imagine you would need lots of patience, as you would have to get used to him always whisking away to save the world! x

    ReplyDelete
  10. Shanna:

    Compassion is a must for anyone!

    Teresa

    ReplyDelete
  11. Claire:

    Good point. I bet a lot of romantic dinners would get interrupted...

    Teresa

    ReplyDelete
  12. I think the most important personality trait that you would need to date a superhero would be,a special kind of understanding- this special kind of understanding would allow you to understand that there would be nights that they would not be there, anniversary's that they'd miss, and dinners that they would not be able to go to.
    I feel like should point out that the best way to answer this question would be to ask a military wife what life is like while their spouse is away for those that serve are truly superheros!

    ReplyDelete
  13. look good in tights!! ;)

    Froggy
    froggarita@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  14. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I would think that in order to date a superhero, you would need patience. Patience that some things might take priority over plans. Patience that folks might want to interrupt you while you're having a "moment" in public.

    The same kind of patience that spouses of cops have to deal with every day.

    KuligowskiAndrew [at] gmail [daht] com : pdf

    ReplyDelete
  16. A whole heck of a lot of patience and selflessness. You HAVE to understand that while he/she may love you, their duty and obligation and love for others will always come first. That's why you fell in love with them in the first place!

    if i win, a kindle copy please to tkhalliday(at)gmail(dot)com Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I would imagine you would need to be fearless and patient because your superhero would be in danger all the time, and likely you would be the target as well by their enemies.

    ReplyDelete
  18. THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED... WINNER TO BE NOTIFIED :)

    ReplyDelete

I'd love to hear your thoughts, so please don't hesitate to leave a comment :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...